House party fails

So I learned something about myself this weekend and it disappointed me.

After hosting a housewarming party for family and friends this weekend I realized I'm a horrible host.

I don't know if it was because we had a lot of people or because I was distracted easily by people wanting tours of the house but I dropped the ball when it came to getting food out.

My husband said before the party he's going to need help when he decides to put food on the grill and I assured him that I would be the best sou chef he ever had.

When it was time to cook I couldn't help me cuz people were talking to me & I felt rude just cutting them off. I didn't really ask people if they wanted drinks they just kind of had to fend for them selves.

In my head I'm was the best host of parties ever. In reality I failed miserably.

The good thing about it is I can only go up from here. It's year 1 and if we decided to do another party in the future I can learn from my mistakes.

We also decided that instead of cooking we are going to cater in next time so we have more time to enjoy ourselves and talk to people.

Hosting a party is not as fun as just going to a party.

Are you a good host? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “House party fails

  1. My wife and I have been hosting parties for over 15 years. It’s a ballet that you will learn, and between you and your husband, you will each learn the other’s moves and you will each play your roles perfectly. Now is the time to learn these things. Another tip: friends. Your closest friends are your allies at hosting parties and can be a huge help to reduce the workload almost exponentially. Don’t be afraid to call on them; parties are a team effort, and most people are happy to lend a hand. It gives them a good feeling to help out, and it helps you and your husband have a good time, too, relieving you of some of the workload.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the great advice I did notice that close friends and some family members were helping me with a lot which made me feel better but I also didn’t want to burden them with anything since they are guest. Practice makes perfect and eventually we’ll get the hang of it. Everyone had a great time and that’s all that matters

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

