Tough love 

When I was younger I surrounded myself around people that would tell me what I wanted to hear instead of what I needed to hear.  Until I met my husband. 

He is someone that will say what needs to be said weather you like it or not. He’s really good at calling me out on my bullshit and giving me that tough love that I need. 

Now that we moved into our new house my day job is a lot farther away. I drive over an hour there and back and I have to take the turnpike which means paying for tolls everyday. Half my paycheck goes to commuting and I’m also racking up miles on my car. 

This job was never intended to be my career and now it is time to look for other opportunities. I have to admit I haven’t be as proactive finding a new job as I should be. 

The other day my husband and I were talking about this and he says “you’re settling because you’re comfortable stop doing that. Don’t settle for this job and go get a better job. You can’t get a better job if you don’t look for one.” 

In the past I used to get so mad at him when he would do this. I always took it as someone trying to tell me what to do and I hated that. 

Now I’m grateful to have someone who isn’t afraid to tell me how it is. Sometimes I just need a push.

Do you have someone in your life that tells you what you need to hear instead of what you want? Let me know in the comments. 

2 thoughts on “Tough love 

  1. Thank you for these words. I honestly was thinking the same thing this morning. It’s hard to hear what you need to hear and I’m thankful that I have my boyfriend, my best friend and my sister that tell me exactly like it is. I’m not done on my journey to the success I want and I’m so thankful to have the people I need right by my side.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

