Thinking before reacting 

As I get more into this journey of becoming the boss of my life I’m slowly learning how to pause for a minute before I react to situations. 

I have this horrible trait where my first reaction is to snap at someone if I’m annoyed or angry. Then after I react and I calm down I feel bad about the way I snapped. I do this to my husband a lot and it drives him crazy so I’m working on it.

The other day I was texting with someone close to me and I was getting upset. It just felt like when dealing with this person I can never win and whatever I do will be wrong. I was typing this long, mean, paragraph back to them and then stopped, put my phone down and waited a few minutes until I calmed down to reply. 

I deleted the paragraph I wrote when I was angry and started over again. This time it was a well thought out response that got a much better reaction than the angry text I was about to send.

I also felt better to be able to communicate my feelings without lashing out. From now on I will stop, take a breather and respond to situations after I’ve calmed down. This is good for the sake of my sanity as well as others. 

Do you think before you react when you’re upset? Let me know in the comments. 

One thought on “Thinking before reacting 

  1. This is something I am actually pretty good at. My mother taught us young that you cannot take words back. My ex-husband used to spout things in anger and then tell me he didn’t mean it. He would bring up things I said and I would always say that I did mean it. Think before you talk/text. It is worth it every time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

