Living within my means

I’ve been learning how to make smarter decisions when it comes to my budget. 

Ever since we started dating my husband and I like to go away for my birthday. Since my birthday is in January and it’s cold in NJ we like to get out of the miserable winter weather and go somewhere warm.

We planned a trip for my 30th birthday this upcoming year. This was before we had a wedding to pay for and a house. 

When we moved into our house we knew we would have to get a new roof.  We want to do it before the winter and while we have some money in our savings to pay for it. 

After having a long discussion about our finances we realized it would be best to cancel the birthday trip and use that money towards a new roof. 

We are finally learning how to be smart with our money and live within our means. In the past we would have tried to do both and put ourselves in a hole. 

Now if we can’t afford a vacation we can’t it’s not a big deal. I’d rather have a new roof where I don’t have to worry about it leaking and causing more of a financial burden than a vacation. 

Plus after living with family for 3 years having my own place again feels like a permanent vacation for now. 

Do you live within your means? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

