Questions you should never ask newlyweds. 

Even though I’ve been in a relationship for almost a decade I’ve only been married a couple of months and I’ve learned a lot about what I will never ask another newlywed couple. Here are the 2 main questions I get that drive me crazy. 

“How’s married life?” That’s the first question people ask me. Married life is the same as unmarried life. The only thing that changed was my last name. I don’t know how married life can be different but it’s no difference to me. 

“When are you having kids?” This question annoys me for so many reasons. First of all what makes you think we want kids. Why is it just an assumption that because we got married now we want kids. The real question should be are you planning on having kids. Secondly can we enjoy being just husband and wife for a little while before we start popping out kids. What is the rush? 

On top of those questions being asked I also get the comments every time my husband or I hold or interact with other people’s kids. “That looks good on you both.” “Are you practicing how to hold an baby when you have kids?” ” maybe soon you will be holding your own.” 

The pressure is so real but I refuse to give into it. We have a plan and we’re sticking to it. 

In the future if anyone in my family or friends of mine get married I will avoid asking these questions. I now know how it feels to be asked these questions and I don’t wish this type of pressure or annoyance on anyone. 

What were questions you were asked when you first got married? Did they annoy you? Let me know in the comments. 

2 thoughts on “Questions you should never ask newlyweds. 

  1. Just to let you know, the questions and assumptions don’t stop… when you do have one child it’s “you must want a second one” when you have the second one (in my case two boys) it’s “don’t you want a little girl?”

    It never ends, it’s just important to live your relationship for you not the expectations of others. Great post! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

