Don’t burn your bridges 

This whole buying a house process is the most frustrating thing I’ve done in a while. The system is just set up crazy and it’s been back and forth with these mortgage people up until this week which is when we are supposed to close.

The underwriter needed to verify my past employment and was having trouble getting someone on the phone from my previous hotel job which I haven’t worked there in 2 years.

They asked me to reach out and see if I can get anyone on the phone. My previous manager stil worked there and I left her a message explaining the situation. She got back to me the next day and let me know she’ll take care of it. 

All I kept thinking was thank god I didn’t burn my bridge over there when I left the job. I left on good terms which made it easier to get what I needed. 

If I would have left on bad terms it probably would have delayed my closing. Burning bridges is something I did do in the past and now that I think about it, doing that was a mistake especially when it comes to jobs. 

Eventually it will come back and bite you in the ass and when I was young and dumb I did leave jobs on not so good terms. Thank goodness it’s been long enough that I haven’t done that but if I had to depend on one of those jobs to help me get a mortgage I would be screwed. 

There’s nothing wrong with leaving a job for whatever reason just make sure you leave on a good note. 

Have you burned bridges and regretted it later on? Let me know in the comments. 

3 thoughts on “Don’t burn your bridges 

  1. That’s unrealistic, certain circumstances don’t allow you to leave on good terms like standing up for truth, people not everyone likes that. That’s life.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I dont mean presenting yourself in an unprofessional manner i.e. tone of voice, cursing etc. I mean when you tell people the truth in a professional manner and stand up for truth if that truth exposes unlawful practices, those people won’t have anything good to say about you or do for you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

