Go get it yourself

I have this close family friend who’s going to be graduating college in May. I remember graduating college and being so excited to get out in the real world and follow my passions. 

I was young, ambitious and ready to take on the world. This younger generation doesn’t have the same mindset as I did at that age and I feel newer generations are starting to feel more entitled. 

Don’t get me wrong I went through a stage in my life where I thought I was better than the jobs I was working and didn’t think it was fair that I had to start at the bottom. The one thing I always did have was a desire to work. My work ethic was good even in my early 20s. 

When I heard this 22 year old told his parents he didn’t think he’d be expected to get a job at 22 when he moves home after graduating I literally had no words. What?!?! 

Did he think that going to college was just a vacation? 

You go to college in hopes that you can get a good job when you graduate. I mean that’s what I thought when I was in school. 

The real world is going to hit him very hard because no one hands you anything in this life. You want something you have to work for it. Point, blank, period. 

If their isn’t the right opportunity out there for you then create it but don’t ever think that things just happen without some effort and it’s sure not going to happen overnight. 

I really hope that all early 20 year olds have this mindset and if they do they are doomed. 

Do you know someone that doesn’t understand the concept of hard work? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

