I believe in naps

Why isn’t it socially acceptable for adults to take naps?

I traveled to Italy in my early 20s and was shocked when everything closed down in the middle of the day for a siesta. 

 Businesses close and people go home to rest for a few hours then go back to work. My mind couldn’t seem to grasp this concept. If you’re closed you’re not making any money how are these people paying their bills? 

Now that I’m in my late 20s I think very differently about this siesta thing. On my cruise my husband and I woke up early and did a lot of different activities around the ship. By 2:00 in the afternoon we were exhausted so we would go back to our room to sit on our balcony and take a nap. It would usually be about an hour that we slept and when we woke up we were so refreshed and ready to take on the rest of the day. 

I feel like I would be a more productive person if I could rest for an hour in the middle of the day. I usually have my coffee buzz for the morning and right after I eat lunch I’m tired and have to get more coffee to keep me awake. The coffee helps me get through the day but my mind is still mush. Maybe I wouldn’t feel so robot like if I could step away from working and just rest. 

Since we did that for a week straight it was very hard to get back into my normal routine of staying awake until I went and now I really want to move to a place where siestas are a thing. 

Turning off your mind and learning to rest isn’t in our American culture. We just want to go, go, go all the time but who’s winning this rat race? If our mind isn’t in the right place how are we supposed to be productive? 

I think siestas should be part of the American way. 

Are you about that siesta life? Let me know in the comments. 

4 thoughts on “I believe in naps

  1. Naps are super-valuable. I have two experiences where they were encouraged. Oddly enough, in the Marines, my Provost Marshal was a believer in naps and encouraged us to nap from 1 pm to 1:30 pm. He said if we actually used that time to nap, we would be excused from any meeting or activity at that time. We took him up on it, and sure enough, we had energy through the rest of the day and were able to focus better. Later, as a civilian, I was training Microsoft employees in Redmond and I was shown the nap rooms they have there for their employees. They were encouraged to nap when they needed a break to keep them happy, sane, and productive. I wish more employers were hip on the nap tip!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

