Don’t talk yourself into being passionate about anything 

I was out of the office for 2 weeks and I thought when I came back my mindset would be different but I was wrong. 

I came back to over 200 emails and was excited to actually have enough work to keep me busy. The morning flew by but by the afternoon even though I had a ton of work to catch up on my motivation went downhill. The last hour of work I didn’t do anything but look busy. 

This is because I don’t have a passion for what I do at my day job and no matter how much time I spend away from it I’m not going to one day wake up and love this industry. 

I have to stop talking myself into thinking that maybe one day I can learn to love this and use the non motivation as a way to figure out how to do things I love. 

Life is short do what you love and if you can’t do it right away do what you have to do until you can do what you’re passionate about. 

Are you someone that talks themselves into being passionate about something? Let me know in the comments. 

4 thoughts on “Don’t talk yourself into being passionate about anything 

  1. So, I guess this is where I show my age. While people my age were encouraged to try to find something you love to be your job and you’ll never “Work” again, the harsh reality is that sometimes, it’s not possible. For the rest of us who can’t play guitar or video games for a living, we have to find something we do well enough and that remunerates us appropriately. Do I love my job? Sometimes. Do I love every aspect of it? Absolutely not. But it pays well, the hours are good, and I’m treated fairly. I live for the off-time, and my job allows me to enjoy life fully.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Great way to put it. I guess its figuring out what’s important to you as far a job. Once you figure out whether it’s money, hours, benefits, flexibility or all of the above you can deal with the negative parts of the job. No matter what there will always be a negative part to anything you do and nothing will ever be perfect. I’m still hopeful that one day I’ll find a job that fulfills me and I love it at least 80% of the time. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

