Mental Health 

When I think about getting myself healthy I think of eating right and working out. This is great for my physical health but what about taking time to take care of my mental health? 

Making sure your mind is in the right place is just as important as being physically healthy. 

My 88 year old grandma is physically healthy. She doesn’t look 88 years old and for the most part her body is where it needs to me. Her mind is a totally different story. 

She was diagnosed with dementia a few years ago and recently it’s gotten so bad that she can’t live on her own anymore. 

Her short term memory is completely gone but she still has her long term memory. I know eventually she’s going to not have any memory of anyone or anything but for now I appreciate the time I do spend with her. 

Spending that time with her made me realize that I have to start now on my mental health. My sister told me that coconut oil is really good to use to help brain activity. Green tea is also really good to drink that helps with your mind. 

Keeping my mind active and making sure I’m always learning new things can’t hurt either. I want to do all I can now and hope it helps long term. 

I want go be physically and mentally healthy as well as badass like my grandma is at her age. 

Do you take time to work on your mental health? Let me know in the comments. 

4 thoughts on “Mental Health 

  1. My grandma’s short term memory gets worse and worse. I don’t know how long she will be able to live alone. It is sad to see a such a smart person (she was a teacher and kept on teaching after she retired) getting so confused… A total different person! But I hope that it is not getting worse!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, sadly my grandma was a teacher and learned/read/did crosswords/educated herself until the memory problem got worse. Her sister didn’t even finish school or read a book after school and she is perfectly fine. After all, it’s just a gamble…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

