If you don’t ask for what you want you’ll never get it 

It was my 6 month review at my day job and my manager sent me an email with some questions to get a feel of where I’m at and how I’m feeling about the culture of the company. 

This is something I’ve never had to do before but I love the idea of communicating with my manager in an honest open way. We have one on one meetings every week and by now I’m comfortable with saying what I like and don’t like. 

I was doing fine with answering the questions until I got to the part about my pay. This has always been a sensitive subject for me to talk about. I’m in an entry level job, I’ve only been at the company for 6 months how do I say the pay is low and it’s hard for me to pay my bills with my paychecks without sounding entitled and unappreciative of the job?

My fiancé has always been really good at knowing his value and communicating to the people that he works with that even though he enjoys the company if he doesn’t get raises for his hard work he has no problem taking his talents elsewhere. This technique has always worked for him. 

My mind always goes to this company doesn’t owe me anything. I’m lucky to even have some kind of paycheck. 

We just recently started getting paid holidays and paid time off but I don’t get health benefits and when I was sick in the past I had to go into work because I couldn’t afford to take a non paid sick day. 

It’s really hard for me to be confident enough to say hey, I enjoy working here but I’m going to need some kind of incentive to stay such as annual raises or bonuses because I can’t live on an entry level salary for the rest of my life. 

After thinking about it I decided to just be honest. If I don’t ask for what I want and need how am I expected to get it? 

The worst that can happen is they say no and I buy my time until I find a better opportunity or win the lottery. 

So I got out of my comfort zone and sent the email with my honest opinion in a professional way of course and my manager said she will discuss with the head honchos and get back to me about what we can do. 

It’s a start and now they know where I’m at and I feel good about that. 

If you don’t ask, you will never know. 

Are you someone that asks for what they want? Let me know in the comments. 

One thought on “If you don’t ask for what you want you’ll never get it 

  1. Yes. I ask the Universe for an income that will provide me the opportunity to fully take care of myself and save, plus travel but also have the freedom to live my life on my own terms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

