29 and feeling fine

Today is my 29th birthday and I’m taking it a lot better than expected. When I was younger I loved celebrating my birthday and then once I hit 25, I had a quarter life crisis and I hated celebrating my birthday and now I’m finally back to being excited about it again.

It’s my last year in my twenties and I’m going to make the most of it. I can’t change the past so I have to keep moving forward. 

29 is going to be a good one. I’m getting married in 2 months, buying a house, and enjoying time being a homebody. I have my established circle of friends and I’m not going to waste time on the toxic people. I have a couple trips planned this year which always makes me happy. 

Once all the craziness of the wedding and buying a house passes I’m really going to focus of building and maintaining relationships with my family and friends. I have to check in on them and keep in touch. 28 was a rough year but I learned a lot and am now appreciating the better times ahead. 

Here’s to being 29 and aging like fine wine. I swear I still look like a 16 year old and I still get carded at bars and the liquor store which I’m told I’ll learn to love as I get older. For now I love seeing the reaction of people when they realize my real age. 

I used to have huge parties for my birthday. Rachel Eve was a celebration that would start the day before my birthday and end the day of. My friends and I came up with it when I was in high school. I figured there’s Christmas Eve, New Year’s Eve so why can’t there be Rachel Eve? It would be a big party and there would be a theme. Rachel Eve is still around it’s just celebrated different as I get older. 

We usually travel somewhere but since we will be on our honeymoon in 2 months we skipped this year. 

Last night we went to go see one of my favorite comedians Sebastian Maniscalco. If you haven’t seen him I suggest you check him out on Netflix. He’s so relatable and makes me laugh until I’m in tears. 

This morning I am starting off my birthday the best way possible brunching with my family. I fucking love brunch. It’s the little things that make me happy. I’ll probably have a low key dinner at home tonight with some wine which is fine with me because I find it hard to stay up past 10:00 pm these days. 

Woo hoo to getting older! 

How do you celebrate birthdays? Let me know in the comments. 

6 thoughts on “29 and feeling fine

  1. I hope your special day is enjoyable; it’s awesome to think back over the past year and the preceding years and see where you’ve come from, survived…because if nothing else you notice that you didn’t stop! My friend whose birthday is today also, celebrates the entire month usually, but this year she chose a more low key approach. Myself on the other hand I rarely celebrate my birthday, Jan 8, dating back to childhood – only had and wanted 1 party with 3 friends…I had a blast but not sure it qualifies as a party! When I turned 16, I only wanted a grey sweat pants suit and a box of Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Poptarts – my parents thought this was my oddest require ever lol but they met my request. That is still my best birthday ever, other than my odd request for gifts, I was in control of the remote control all day and watched whatever everyone else wanted to lol!!! It’s funny as I write this because now I see why my friends and family thought of me as weird in the context of birthday celebrations. On my 30th birthday last year, the same friend I mentioned earlier who celebrates her birthday ALL month, convinced me to take a week long vacation with her during my birthday week. This year I once again returned to my very low key, almost no celebration on my birthday…the highlight was sharing a conversation with my long distance beau!!!

    Happy, joyous birthday to you. 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday!!! I celebrate at a big party we have at our home for all our June-July birthdays, which seems all my close friends and I all share birthdays within two weeks of each other. Kinda weird and cool how that worked out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

