It’s the little things

As I’m continuing on this journey to becoming the boss of my life I’m finding that it’s the little things that make me happy.

I went to visit my best friend in Florida about a month ago and after not seeing her for over a year I didn’t realize how much I needed that trip until I got home. I felt refreshed, focused and motivated after seeing her and realized we both need to make it a priority to see each other at least once a year but twice would be ideal. 

We went to Pollo Tropical which when I lived in Florida for a few years was my go to place to eat. It’s delicious, fresh, and cheap. Having that meal when I was down there made me so happy I realized it really doesn’t take much to get me in a good mood. 

When we started on this journey of buying a house my fiancé and I were looking at larger homes that we can grow into one day. As we thought about it and things came up we realized we don’t want a big house because we like to travel. If we had a bigger house all the money we worked hard for would go into that place and we wouldn’t be able to live. So we decided a smaller house or a townhouse would be best for us. Enough rooms and bathrooms to raise a family in and it gives us more money to travel, go out and actually have a life. 

I know longer dream of that huge house or that penthouse in the city. I want a simple life so it allows me to go places and see things outside my comfort zone. Plus who is going to clean and maintain that huge house? It’s exhausting to clean and maintain a smaller place let alone a huge house. I sure as hell don’t have time for that kind of nonsense. 

I’m smarting up and realizing there’s more to life than materialistic things and it’s the little things that really make life worthwhile. 

Are you someone that enjoys the little things? Let me know in the comments 

6 thoughts on “It’s the little things

  1. I learned in my early 20’s that sometimes, sitting down for a half hour of reflection and thought can be more beneficial to my mental well being than anything else, so I’ve always tried to incorporate some quite reflective time into my days. It’s such a little thing, but the difference it makes is great.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You made a wise decision. I see too many young couples becoming “house poor” where all their extra income goes into maintaining a real nice house. But they have no money left to travel, dine out, and splurge on fun things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

