Why is it so hard to ask for help? 

I’m the worst at asking for help. Always have been and at this rate I probably always will be. 

I don’t know if it’s because I’m to stubborn or because I think that asking for help makes me weak and a failure. Either way I’m sick of being afraid to ask for help. 

People have no problem asking me for help and I usually help them so there’s no reason why I shouldn’t ask when I need it. 

What’s the worst that can happen if I ask for some help? Someone says no and I move on to figuring out the next step. 

It’s such a simple task yet I struggle with it all the time. I have to stop with the mindset that I can do and solve everything on my own because I can’t. 

There are times when I simply can’t be in two places at once. I’m going to start asking for help on little things like help with dinner or a project at work. Once I conquer that I will ask for more complicated things like watching my dogs for me when I’m away, and borrowing someone’s car if my is acting up. 

I’m hoping to one day get over this fear of asking for help but like everything else it takes time and patience. 

Time to get to work and conquer this fear. 

Do you have trouble asking people for help? Let me know in the comments. 

7 thoughts on “Why is it so hard to ask for help? 

  1. I think people who are independent and self-motivated have the hardest time asking for help. We are a proud group of hardworking people who like to solve our own problems. It takes humility to realize we can’t do everything for ourselves all the time, and sometimes it becomes necessary to reach out for assistance. It appears that you’ve reached the point in life that you recognize that sometimes you need a little help. You’re well on your way to being a well-rounded, wise, and mature person.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m starting to think we are far too alike! Lol. I am the worst person for asking for help! I am told on various occasions that I shouldn’t suffer in silence but either I don’t want to burden people with my problems, I don’t feel they can help or my pride get a in the way and I see it as a sign of weakness! Unfortunately it all blew up in my face so I’m now eating humble pie as I feel everyone is now waiting for me to crack again x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this topic…. it’s definitely something I have struggled with and as a recovering addict, it’s a skill that was vital to my recovery.
    Asking for help is hard!!!!!! It’s considered to be very humbling because of the possible rejection that could come with it.

    What I found even harder than the actual act of asking for help, was asking for help and actually WANTING the help, because I think subconsciously I would ask for “help” but secretly still feel like only I could help myself best. So once I actually started seeing the value in asking for help, did it actually become easier

    Further introspection… I actually linked my fear of commitment with my inability to ask for help… so I started working on that issue and asking for help became much easier

    Finally, realizing that by asking for help, I’m not playing a helpless victim, the only reason I’m asking for help is because something is out of my control and outside assistance is needed. I mean… not like u wouldn’t jump when that very person had to ask u for help right? Lol

    All the best

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

