I just can’t sit at a desk for the rest of my life

The other day while eating dinner with my dad I asked him how his day went and his response was “it was miserable I had to sit at a desk all day and I hate that.” This is obviously where my lack of interest in robot jobs comes from. 

He’s been doing it for almost 30 years now and I don’t know how he hasn’t lost his mind. It made me realize that I have to step my game up and really start focusing on making my dreams a reality in 2017.

I can’t and won’t settle for life as a robot. It’s not in me to sit around all day. I’m focused on my work for about 2 hours then I sit on my phone and pretend to look busy for the rest of the day. It’s a horrible way to live and I need to motivate myself to focus on my goals and get out of this 9-5 life. 

I need to feel fulfilled at what I do and that’s not what’s happening now. 

I saw somewhere online where it said instead of obessing about what your passion is, focus on the things that interest you and go from there. I think that’s a better way to look at it when it comes to finding your career. 

It’s time to make a list of my interests and get to work because I’m not going to be the miserable old lady in the office 30 years from now. I refuse. 

Life is short so you should love what you do and work somewhere awesome. 

Do you love what you do? Let me know in the comments. 

4 thoughts on “I just can’t sit at a desk for the rest of my life

  1. No! I love architecture but working in my office is rather dull. I want to open up my own firm one day and focus more on community based architecture and the psychology of how we interact with our environments! I’m going to be working towards this in 2017 as well.

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I couldn’t agree more! I’ve had office jobs but I always loved the part of my job that led me away from my desk whether it be talking to sales, communicating with administration or upstairs in the store room rearranging literature! I very much plan for 2017 to lead me back to a job I love! All the best for 2017!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

