Team Sleep

I see all over the place articles and motivational posts about how you can’t sleep to be successful. Hashtags like team no sleep and money don’t sleep are all over the place and I have to disagree with this. 

I’m team at least 6 hours of sleep or I will be unproductive for the next day. My brain just doesn’t function if I don’t let it rest. 

The only time I really didn’t get sleep was in college. I didn’t realize how unhealthy it was for me until after I graduated and became an adult. When I was in my early twenties I could party all night and still wake up to go to class and come back and just sleep. 

I think one of the reasons I gained a lot of weight in college was because I was eating like shit and not getting enough sleep. 

Now that I’m close to my 30s I have to get sleep to be able to get up and go to that boring office job I have during the day. It’s a struggle to stay motivated when I’m well rested let alone when I’m tired at that place. 

My life is unpredictable and there will be times where I don’t get enough sleep but still have to get up and go to work. For the most part I make sure I’m well rested so I can be the most productive during the day as possible. 

Are you a type of person that needs sleep to function? Let me know in the comments. 

10 thoughts on “Team Sleep

  1. The person who cannot sleep rightly cannot live rightly. Sleep is not a waste of time. The 6-8 hours of sleep are not being wasted; rather, because of those that we are able to stay awake for 18-16 hours. Otherwise we would not be able to stay awake all that time.

    During those sleeping hours life-energy is accumulated, our life gets revitalized, the centers of our brain and heart calm down and our life functions from our navel center. For those sweet hours of sleep we can we will again become one with nature and with existence. That is how we become revitalized.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s coincidental that you wrote this post today. I was supposed to wake up at 5 am to go running, but I didn’t get enough sleep and decided to sleep through it. Then, at 5:45 when my normal alarm went off, I continued to sleep even longer. I finally got up at around 6:20, but for whatever reason, I needed more sleep. I normally need about 7 hours, but last night, it seems I needed more. Go figure.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I had this same issue this morning. My alarm kept going off and I just kept hitting snooze until eventually I had to force myself to get up. Sometimes you just need a little extra sleep

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

