“Can’t” is not in my vocabulary 

I’ve officially removed all negative words from my vocabulary.  Well, almost all of them.  I started going back into that negative space in my head and it was time to do something about it.

When I worked in the hospitality industry I would always hear the saying “we work in hospitality, we don’t the word “no”.”  That was back in the day where people actually enjoyed there jobs and would do everything within reason to make sure the customer was happy. Oh the good old days.

If I can have that mindset in my career than I can apply this to all aspects of my life.  Words like no, can’t, horrible, terrible, bad, unhappy, ugly, fat and failure have been vanished from my mind. Just like that they were gone. Poof, gone.

Instead of answering my friends and family with the usual response about my day job with “it’s slow, boring, mindless job and it sucks.” I changed my response to “it helps pay the bills and I work with some pretty cool people. I also get to learn a new skill and about a different industry.”

If someone asks me how wedding planning is going instead of responding with “I understand why people either elope or don’t get married because this is mentally draining.” I respond with “I’m excited to be able to share the day with family and close friends. I also can’t wait for the open bar and dancing.”

I still find myself slipping back into that I can’t do this mentality and I have to remind myself that I’m a bad ass woman that can do this.

Have you removed negative words from your vocabulary? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

