I do my own thing 

I’m an introvert and I used to think that was a bad thing. I like to do my own thing and don’t expect people to do things for me. 

I’m in my late twenties and I’m living with family to save money. It’s been almost 2 years and to say I’m ready for my own place is an understatement.  We’re at the homestretch and will be in our own place in the next 3-4 months. Anxious and excited are the two emotions going through me these days.

Because I live with other people I’m expected to participate in all the events that go on in the house and around the house. Holidays, birthday parties, get togethers, you name it I’m at it. 

Every now and then I just like to do my own thing. I love my “me” time and need it to keep my mind right. 

A lot of people in both of our families are extroverts so they don’t understand that we don’t want to be around people all the time. 

It’s nothing personal it’s just the way I’m wired and I wish more people could understand that. 

I just like to do my own thing. It’s really simple. 

Are you an introvert or extrovert? Let me know in the comments. 

6 thoughts on “I do my own thing 

  1. I am an introvert. I as well like to do my own thing in my own way and it annoys me when family members, friends, strangers whoever try to make me do what I don’t want.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m an introvert who has learned the ability to be an extrovert on occasion, but I savor my alone time. It’s not that I don’t enjoy spending time with others, but sometimes, I just need to be away from the hustle and bustle and just be with myself. I used to think I was weird when I was young as I was able to play for hours by myself with drawing, modelling clay, or building plastic models. I didn’t know then what an introvert was, but yep: that’s who I was.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

