The “Quick Fix” Culture

I was watching a documentary on Netflix called “Prescription Thugs” (I’m obsessed with documentaries) and it was really eye opening on what our culture has become.  The documentary is about the epidemic of prescription pill addicts and why it’s become so popular now.  Someone in the movie described our culture as the “quick fix” culture and it really got me thinking.

When life gets tough for people do they automatically search for some kind of “quick fix” to deal with there problems?

There are so many products on TV that are pushing these easy way out programs down everyone’s throat that it’s hard to not get sucked into that trap. Whether it’s a weight loss program or supplement that claims that you will lose 10 lbs in 10 days or a pill to help you if your anxious every other commercial on TV is some kind of quick fix.  I saw on the news the other day about a 1 minute workout that people are doing now and its supposed to help you lose weight.  Now the news is helping with these crazy techniques and it’s getting out of control.

Life isn’t all fairytales and rainbows all the time.  It’s ok to be sad, angry, or have negative thoughts.  You’re not going to be happy all the time and love your life.  Just because you have a bad day or week or month doesn’t mean you are depressed or have anxiety or bipolar. It just means your going through normal human emotions when life gets tough.  It will not get better overnight with some kind of “quick fix” like a pill from a doctor or a 1 min workout.

This culture is programming people to think they have a problem when they are just having normal reactions and emotions to negative things that happen in there lives.  People are getting addicted to these pills they don’t need, ruining there lives and some are dying from it and that scares the shit out of me.

My mom took me to a therapist when I was around 14 years old.  I was having problems at school, lying to her about pretty much everything and we would fight all the time. The therapist just sat there, listened to me and didn’t judge anything I was saying and it felt good to talk to someone that wasn’t going to take sides in this war between my mother and I.  I went for a couple of months and it did help a lot but I remember our last session together she said “you made it through this therapy without having to be put on medication” Then she went on to tell me if I were to be put on an anti depressant I would have to get my blood work done every other week and would have to come see her twice a week for 3 more months.  I didn’t understand it then but now that I think about it, I didn’t need medication. I was going through normal teenage hormone emotions. Every teenager goes through some kind of stage where they think they know everything and rebel.  Putting me on medication shouldn’t of even been a thought to this therapist.  I was 14 years old, I never said so serious that I would need some kind of anti depressant pill.  I wasn’t have suicidal thoughts, I was just mad at my mother for not letting me go to parties on the weekends and snooping through my stuff in my room when I wasn’t home.

I do believe in therapy, I think it’s helpful to speak to someone about your issues that doesn’t know you or your family and can work with you to get to the core issue of why you’re feeling the way you do. I just don’t believe in prescribing medication to someone that just needs a venting session.

Now I’m not saying that no one has serious mental health problems and need some kind of medication to help them.  There are people that really have bipolar disorder, anxiety, depression, and bad backs.  I’m grateful that they have something to help them live a happy life and can manage there serious health issues.  Doctors should be able to tell the difference between someone that really needs medication and someone that just needs to talk to someone.  In the end it’s a business and it’s all about the money which is bullshit.

Negative things are going to happen in your life and you can’t control that. Getting through the tough times and controlling how you handle those problems that will happen is what will make you a better person.  I learned more about myself from my mistakes and when my life was negative than I ever did when my life was going good.  But my life was never perfect nor did I ever expect to be.

Getting past the problems and overcoming it made me appreciate the good times.  I became very grateful for what I have and humbled myself down.

No matter how many pills you take, how many exercise programs you do, how many diets you try those things will only make you temporarily forget about your problems. They don’t fix the problems they mask the problems. The only way to be truly happy and get your self esteem back is to do some good old fashion soul searching.  Become the boss of your life and figure out what makes you happy and what skills you’re good at and create your own happiness. Everyone has a purpose, go out there and find yours.

How do you feel about this “quick fix” culture?

 

Leave a Reply

