Living in the moment

I’ve been practicing the art of being more present while experiencing different things. I have this habit of just going through the motions of daily activities and not really taking the time to live. I’ve become a robot.

Last month we took a last minute day trip to NYC which is something we haven’t done in a while. The night before we left I decided that for the whole day I just wanted to be present and live in the moment. I channeled my inner Carrie Bradshaw and was ready to conquer as many tourist things as possible. 

No technology just old school living like when I was a teenager and didn’t have a cell phone so I was forced to have actual conversations with people that I was with. I wound up having an amazing day window shopping in the city, eating at one of our favorite places and doing the one thing I’ve missed doing, people watching. I laughed a lot and at the end of the day felt more like a human and less like a machine. 

Life is so short and I have to start making sure that I’m enjoying it as much as possible instead of just going through the motions of daily life and mentally checked out. 

Do you live in the moment? Let me know in the comments. 

2 thoughts on “Living in the moment

Leave a Reply

