Fuck the noise 

There have been many situations in my life  where I couldn’t drown out the noise and let other people’s opinions get to me.

A most recent situation happened a few months ago where I had to stop and take a step back to listen to my inner voice.

My fiancé and I are in the early stages of buying a house. We’ve lived with family for almost 2 years and for both of our sanity it’s time to get our own place.

We started looking online for places in our price range and contacted a realtor. At first we didn’t see anything that we really fell in love with so we didn’t tell anyone about our plan.

We made the stupid mistake of finding a house that we were interested in and showing our family members. Everyone had an opinion and I started to realize there opinions were clouding our judgement and we needed to take a step back, breathe and think out loud to each other.

This wasn’t there decision to make it was our decision. It wasn’t a house they were going to live in, we had to live in the house.

From now on we will go alone with our realtor and look at different places. We need to make sure we’re doing what’s best for us and not everyone else. There’s a risk in buying any house you never know what could happen. Just because other people we know got screwed when they bought there house doesn’t mean we are going to make those mistakes but we might.  We need to make our own mistakes and learn from them.

It’s a big decision and it’s not an overnight process so we’ll wait it out, drown out the noise and listen to our inner voices.

Have you ever had to drown out the noise of other people’s opinions? Let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Fuck the noise 

  1. You are exactly right. It’ll be your home, not theirs. It’s your opinion that matters, not theirs. A co-worker was telling me that she was trying to find a baby name for her unborn daughter because the name she originally picked and loved was “Shot down” by her mother-in-law. That left me speechless. Who cares what anyone other than the parents think. It’s their baby; name it! lol

    Good luck on the house hunting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always amazes me how people feel so comfortable telling other people how to live. My cousin is having a baby and she refuses to tell anyone the name until she’s born because of the opinions. I guess whatever stage you are in life you will always have to drown out the noise.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It never ends. At 49, I still get “Input” from people I’ve known my whole life. The sad part: most of it isn’t positive. When I first lost 50 lbs (towards the 133 lbs I’ve lost so far), a close family member said, “That’s nice, but you still have a long way to go.” I was thinking, “Thanks for the encouragement. Now F-off.” lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

