Dealing with difficult people 

Have you ever dealt with someone that no matter what you do it’s never good enough?

I’ve dealt with my share of difficult people. Weather it’s a boss that just can’t make up there mind or its someone close that no matter how much positive things are going on they always see the negative.

You have to go into these situations with the right mindset and very thick skin. Don’t take anything personally and just do the best you can do.

I’ll give you an example of a situation I was in recently. I had a project to get done at my day job and it was to order some promotional materials to send to clients. I was given the responsibility to design the materials and order them.

Now I’ve learned my lesson from past mistakes I’ve made at different jobs and that’s always always always make sure to get things approved before you make the commitment and order something.

So I picked out the color scheme which was the easy part and that was approved right away. Now I had to get the logo to fit and look right. This was a long process.

I must of went back and forth 200 times between my coworkers and the printing agency on how to make the logo look exactly how my high up wanted it to look.

Every time they would send the artwork for approval there would be a comment.

We finally got it done after driving a lot of people crazy and compromising. During this wonderful adventure as I like to put it I stayed calm, listened and did the best I could to make it look perfect.

The problem wasn’t the actual designs. It was trying to make someone happy that is never going to be happy even if it looks perfect.
The more difficult people you deal with the easier it is to put up with them.
Like everything else practice makes perfect. I’ve deff perfected this one.

Do you deal with difficult people? Let me know in the comments

5 thoughts on “Dealing with difficult people 

    1. I will definitely check that book out. I read the No Asshole Rule by Robert Sutton and that’s another good read on how to deal with difficult people especially in the workplace. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I deal with difficult people on the daily. One person is coming to mind right now. I finally realized that she is going to do what she does despite how it may make others feel. I am learning to just let it go. Some days are harder than others. Sometimes she makes my work life hell, but what do you do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree that it is harder some days than others to deal with these kind of people. I find it best to just ignore and not take it personally. I close my eyes and breathe in and out that helps me calm down. Then I go home and have a glass of wine or two which is the best solution for the tough days. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

