What if I don’t know what my dreams are?

All over the Internet you see these sites about how you should follow your dreams which is great advice that I agree with. The only question I have is what if you don’t know what those dreams are? 

When I was younger I wanted to be a teacher. As I got older I thought I wanted to be a nurse than I wanted to be a event planner. Once I was in college I wanted to work in hospitality specifically the hotel industry. 

I changed my mind a hundred times about what I wanted to do with my life and tried many different things. The one thing I didn’t do was settle at a job I hated. 

All of this time my dad was engraving in my mind that I should be my own boss. 

“Find something you like to do and make a business out of it because working for other people sucks.” 

I heard that saying from him a million times when I was younger. It took me years to understand what he was saying. 

It’s not in my DNA to work for someone else. Some people need that stability and structure and as long as you’re truly happy than I respect that. 

I’m a risk taker and I love to be challenge. I also don’t like the fact that I can work my ass off for someone else and one day they can just get rid of me or not pay me what I’m worth. 

Maybe there is a 9-5 out there that is my dream job I just haven’t found it yet. I’ll continue looking but until then I want to focus my energy into a brand that can help people be the boss of their life. 

I know what it’s like to not have any idea who you are or what you want to be. I’ve been there and I’m still going through it so if you’re in that position you’re not alone. Everyday I question what my true passion is and how to make that into a dream job. 

Finding what you’re passionate about isn’t easy and you’ll have to go through a lot of different jobs to find it. After working all those different jobs you still might not have a clue what you’re passionate about. 

You will find it and once you do, work hard, and follow your fucking dreams. 

Are you following your dreams? Let me know in the comments. 

10 thoughts on “What if I don’t know what my dreams are?

    1. It’s good to know things take time. Being patient is something I’m not very good at but I’m working on. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  1. One thing I’ve learned is even if you think you figured out your dream, path or what have you- life changes a lot! Going from my 20’s to my 30’s came with finally figuring out who I am. So, don’t give up on dreams, but also don’t put everything on having them- worry more about who YOU are! 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m in my last year of my 20s and I have so many friends that tell me the same thing you just said. 30s are the best years because you finally figure out who you are and you stop worrying so much. I’m hoping that’s the case for me as well. It’s a process but I’ll get there.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Life constantly changes, throws you curveballs when you least expect it – embrace it and change as needed – grow and learn – doesn’t matter your age – I know who I am but yet I discover something new about myself all the time

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right! As my life changes I learn and grown from it. I’m always discovering something new about who I am and that’s a great thing. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

