Don’t be the assistant of your wedding, be the boss and just elope (trust me on this one) 

My cousin got married about 5 years ago and after the wedding she looked me in the eye and said “when you find the one you want to spend the rest of your life with, just elope.” I laughed because I thought she was joking but apparently she wasn’t because she kept this stern face.  I thought  I was never going to get married so I wouldn’t have this problem.

After 8 years of dating, a lot of growing and learning from our mistakes the love of my life put a ring on it.  We’ve been engaged for about 10 months now and we are having a destination wedding in March.

You don’t realize how mentally draining planning a wedding can be until you are actually doing it. Everyone wants to tell you how your wedding should be. 

Drowning out all the opinions and doing what you want to do is hard enough in my daily life, now I have to deal with it for my wedding. 

I know when the day comes everything will fall into place and I’ll have the best time. I just wish it was coming a little sooner. 

My cousin was absolutely right when she gave me that advice and now I know why she told me that. 

If you’re planning a wedding now or will be in the future just make sure you’re not the assistant of your wedding, you’re the boss and have the kind of wedding that you want or just elope (which is the better choice) 

Do you or did you have this problem when you were planning your wedding? Let me know in the comments. 
 

Leave a Reply

