Pep talks to yourself are key 

I’m all about being my own cheerleader. I think it’s important to be able to pump yourself up on days when you’re mind just isn’t in the right space. 

Parks and Recreation is one of my favorite shows. It’s up there with The Office which I still watch reruns of both of these shows on Netflix. 

Leslie Knope was a character that really taught you a lot of life lessons. One of those lessons was being able to support yourself even when no one else does. 

I started using this technique recently and it really helps. If I really don’t want to get up in the morning and go to that day job I give myself a pep talk and I get up and do it. If I don’t want to write a blog post I talk myself into it and it gets done. 

If I don’t come home and work on this brand I look in the mirror and put myself in check. 

Sometimes you just need to say out loud what you’re goals are and where you want to be to get motivated again. 

Do you give yourself pep talks? 

6 thoughts on “Pep talks to yourself are key 

  1. I always wait for others to motivate me or give me the pep talk… and I wait forever! …. then I remind myself I should do it myself! because no one else knows how much you need it… plus everyone else is busy with their own thing!
    So, thanks for the reminder! 🙂 .. I really needed that..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was the same way. Always waiting for people to motivate me and since it wasn’t happening I decided to motivate myself. It’s better that way. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post! Probably because I’ve grown up having to give myself these types of pep talks. Its ok, you can put the matchstick size violin down, by learning to motivate myself I discovered something most people don’t… that the only validation that counts, is the one from the person you see in the mirror every morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As someone that has also had to rely on myself to make sure I’m motivated, I completely agree with you. The only person that’s going to help you is you. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

