A long time ago I learned not to explain things to people

Learn that it is okay to not explain things to people. By explaining things to people, especially those who don’t really have the right to know or who don’t really care about you, you allow them to set your boundaries in connection with them. They now feel they are entitled to know everything about your life. Make sure that you set healthy boundaries with everyone in your life.

I need to work on not snapping at people when they try to talk about things I don’t want to talk about. I usually snap and then shut down and that’s not healthy. I need to learn how to communicate in a calm way and just explain to people I don’t want to talk about certain things and keep it moving to the next topic.

Every detail of your life doesn’t have to be talked about or explained. Most people get the sugar coated verison of my life and I keep the rest to myself. I have a handful of people that I tell the real verison of things too. You need people that are have your best interest at heart to be able to go to when life gets complicated. 

Learning how to set those boundaries is one of the most important parts to becoming the boss of your life. It isn’t easy but it’s worth it in the end. 

Have you set boundaries for people in your life? 

Leave a Reply

