Does a college degree guarantee success?

 I was never a school person. Tests and papers gave me aniexty. I would hate to go to classes and sit all day to learn about things I would never need to use in real life. 

I was programmed growing up that in order to get a good job and be successful you needed a college degree. I went to college and stuck it out for 4 years and got my degree. I didn’t do it for myself, I did it for my parents who were so proud to see me walk up to the podium and receive a piece of paper that they could frame and hang in the house. 

After I graduated I applied for jobs and went on a lot of interviews. Out of all the interviews I went on do you know how many of those companies asked to see my degree? None of them cared I had a college degree let alone wanted to see it. 

I was only qualified for entry level jobs because I had no experience and those jobs paid minimum wage wheather you had a degree or not. That’s when I realized that just because you have a degree, if you are going to work in Corporate America and climb the ladder you had to start at the bottom. 

I struggled for a fews years out of school, and was forced to live the cubicle life to have some kind of income to pay off my student loans. I could have easily gotten the same jobs without the student loan debt right out of high school. 

  
Even though I sound anti college, I’m not. I made a lot of friends in college and learned how to be an adult and do things like laundry, cooking for myself, cleaning my dorm rooms, and forcing myself to go to classes even though I was hungover from the night before. I think college is a good way to help you transition from living with your parents to the real world. I just don’t think that students should put themselves in a position where they are in debt just to get a piece of paper that means nothing. 

“I believe experience is the best education and if you want to succeed in your industry you need to get your foot in the door and start working.

College is important for people that want to work in certain industries. If you want to be a lawyer, it is important to go to law school and learn the law. If you want to be a doctor, it is important to go to med school and study anatomy and medicine. 

For people like me who had no idea what they want to do for the rest of there lives, college isn’t necessary.

Just because you have a college degree does not mean you are going to graduate and get a job making 100,000 dollars a year. 

Do you think having a college degree guarantees success? Let me know in the comments. 

6 thoughts on “Does a college degree guarantee success?

  1. I think in the same way. I would much rather spend more time and effort teaching my daughters soft skills. Yes, for certain professions the actual education is necessary. Maybe we need to redefine what we call “successful”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think you need a degree to be successful, there are different ways to get to where you want to be. Here in the UK young people have the option of doing apprenticeships which I think is a great option as not every young person wants to go to uni. The apprenticeship route gives young people on the job experience as well as training.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the idea of apprenticeships. The US has internships but they are usually done while you are in college and you earn credits. Experience beats education in my opinion.

      Like

  3. Constant discussion I have with many of my friends and many young (high school and early) students.

    To answer your question: No, a college degree does not guarantee success, but success is relative to every individual. If success is defined as: graduate & get a high paying job there is a small number of people who achieve that.

    I am very much in agreement that accumulating major debt all in pursuit for a piece of paper is very unwise and should be avoided as much as possible. On the other hand I live in the DMV (DC,MD,VA) area and EVERY entry level job requires at min a college degree or associates in progress of 4 year. Some jobs require Bachelors but prefer Masters. It is difficult to be competitive in the DMV market without a degree.

    What I’ve seen as part of the issue are young individuals who eagerly desire “the college experience” at any cost and have no clue how student loans impact ones financial flexibility post college. Also, students many times have no idea that going to school without student loans is an option. It is very possible to get a degree without the hefty debt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

