The grass isn’t always greener

I have this problem with always thinking that the grass is always greener on the other side. My first reaction when life gets tough is to change everything around in my life hoping that my life will be perfect after that. 

After college I hated the winters in the northeast so I made the drastic change to move down south. Thinking that everything was going to be so much better in Florida because how can it not be in a place where there’s sunshine all year round. We didn’t think it over or plan we just went. 

Guess what? Life wasn’t better down in Florida. Our problems followed us and we realized that we shouldn’t have made that decision and moved back to the northeast where our friends and family were. 

I learned I can’t run away from my problems because they will follow me everywhere so I just have to deal with them and know that I will get through it. 

Relationships have rough patches that doesn’t mean you end it and look for a better person. Job opportunities don’t work out that doesn’t mean you give up completely on finding the right fit for you. Your health isn’t always going to be perfect sometimes I’m on a great workout routine and I’m eating healthy, other times I eat junk food and I don’t see a gym for weeks. That doesn’t mean I give up on my fitness goals and just continue to get junk food forever. 

Happiness is about your mindset.  What you learn through the tough times will help you grow. Just know that as many good times you’ll have in life, they’ll be just as many bad times to go along with it. You can’t control it you just have to accept it. 

Are you the type of person that thinks the grass is always greener on the other side? 

3 thoughts on “The grass isn’t always greener

  1. I believe the grass is not always greener – you need to deal with what is going on in order to find happiness. Sadly, many people in my life have believed that when in they were in a relationship with me only to find out it isn’t, try to come back and by then it is usually too late.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a tough lesson to learn and once you realize it you regret making that decision to leave. Sometimes you just have to learn the hard way. I know I did. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m like you, or at least in use to be. I did the whole moving away thing and problems came with on the way there and on the way back. As I approach 30 I’m beginning to realize sticking it out is the better option. It may be hard (like really) hard sometimes but in the end I pull through as a better person.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

