I’m a Millennial and I’m proud of it

The other day while working at my day job one of my coworkers sent me an email saying “thank you so much for your help the other day. I couldn’t have finished this project without you.” This made me fulfilled and I was able to have a great rest of the day.

Millienials need to work in an environment that fulfills them or they check out. I need to know that I’m doing something important and helping someone to be able to feel fulfilled. If I’m not getting that at a job I look for another opportunity. I also need room to grow. After 2 years if I’m not in a different more challenging position I’m looking for something else. I think most people in my generation are like that.  

Gone is the generation of people who work at a job for 30 years because we want to be loyal to a company that will probably wind up screwing us over in the end. We don’t settle for a mindless, mediocre job because of the good benefits. 

We learn a new job, we work hard to perfect that job and we expect to keep it moving to another position in a few years. 

That doesn’t make us entitled, or self centered like these past generations have told us we are. It makes us ambitious, passionate people that don’t settle. 

What’s wrong with a generation of people that want to help change the world? I don’t see anything wrong with that. 

One thought on “I’m a Millennial and I’m proud of it

Leave a Reply

