Stop planning your life, just start living it

When I was in my early twenties, I had a plan for my life. I was going to be married by a certain age, a mother by a certain age, I was going to be financially stable by a certain age.

The problem with thinking like this is that life is unexpected. Things are going to happen that you can’t control.

When I was just out of college and in my early twenties I thought after 25 I would have my life in order. I would be finainically stable, in a career I loved, married, kids, house, living the Amercan dream but guess what? I am no where near any of that.

I am a 28 year old that is on this journey to be an entrepreneur, not married, no kids, still not as financially stable as I would like to be, I don’t have my own house yet and I am fine with it. It took me some time to be ok with how my life turned out.

I realized that I was comparing my life to other people. Relatives and family members were married with kids by my age. They had steady stable careers.  I wasn’t the only one comparing myself to others.  My mom would make comments like “By the time I was your age I was married for 3 years and was pregnant with you.” “By the time you get married and have children I will be in my 90s.” My grandmother would tell me that she wanted to be alive to see me walk down the aisle and watch my kids grow up.  This added a lot more pressure to figure my life out.

“Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans”

Once I stopped comparing myself to others and drowned out the noise of relatives, I started living a different life.  I take life one day at a time. I make sure I am working hard at something I am passionate about and I have a lot of fun also.

Do I have days where I panic and worry about my biological clock and think that by the time I am ready to start a family I won’t be able to because my body is too old? Of course I do! I think every woman especially women in our late twenties goes through that.  You have to trust the timing of your life.  Stop planning your life and just start living it.  Every thing else will fall into place after that.

Have you ever planned out your life and something happened to change your plans? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Stop planning your life, just start living it

Leave a Reply

