Why do people stay at jobs they hate?

  

In todays world there are too many people who settle for a life they are miserable living and I HATE IT! In case you haven’t figured it out by now, it drives me crazy when people settle!

One of the first things people settle on is there job.  They find a job that pays decent, gives great health benefits, and vacation time.  All of those qualities are great, however they hate the actual job they have to do.

I remember when I was bouncing from job to job.  I would settle for a job that I knew wasn’t a long term career for me and get bored after 6 months and either quit or got fired.  I started thinking of why I kept torturing myself with this routine and here are the reasons I came up with;

  • I kept telling myself that it was only temporary.  I would tell myself that I am only going to be here until a better opportunity comes along.  The problem with that was I had no idea what I wanted to do or what my passion was, so I couldn’t define what a better opportunity was. 
  • I would convince myself that having a job (even if it is one you hate) is better than having no job.  This is true to a point, you need to be able to support yourself and need income, however what I really needed to do was take time to figure out my purpose, and I couldn’t do that by working full time at places where 90 percent of the time I would take my work home with me.
  • I was a people pleaser.  I would take jobs that I knew would impress my family and friends. Living to impress other people and not focusing on your own happiness is a HORRIBLE way to live and I do not suggest it.
  • I liked the idea of having an important job title.  For example,  I was a manager at a hotel and I liked the idea of being a manager of a hotel more than I actually liked the job.  I was forced to work long hours and I would even get calls when I was home or out to dinner about problems that were going on at the hotel which effected my social life.  I loved to be able to train people, and fix problems, but I hated the actual hotel industry.  I stuck with it just because I liked the important title.
  • I got comfortable at the jobs.  I would make friends, I would get into a routine, I would learn the systems.  I got comfortable and didn’t want to have to start over learning a new job and meeting new people.

Eventually I woke up and realized I was being unfair to myself and needed to take time to seriously figure out what my passion was and how to make a career out of it. It isn’t easy taking that risk, but I am learning that it is better to wake up happy and excited about your career everyday rather than being miserable and forced to work in a job you hate. Right now I’m working at a day job to help finance my dream career. Once my brand takes off than I can focus on that full time and quit the temporary day job. 

“It doesn’t matter if it’s a relationship, a lifestyle, or a job, if it doesn’t make you happy, let it go.”

Have you ever stayed/ or are still at a job you hate? Why do you stay?  Let me know in the comments

3 thoughts on “Why do people stay at jobs they hate?

  1. I know exactly what you are talking about. I definitely settled for my job. I actually felt lucky to have it because I didn’t exactly coast through university. It kind of left me with the feeling that I didn’t deserve the amazing job. However, knowing how wrong that is I have begun to set my life straight and it feels great! Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was the same way. I was never a school person and felt that any job was better than no job. Self confidence has a lot to do with that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

