Learning how to take constructive criticism everyday. 

This is a tough lesson to learn and something I still struggle with all the time.  When I was younger I was this sensitive sally that didn’t want to hear it when someone would try to give me advice or tell me what to do.  I really thought I knew everything back then and I think back about those times today and just laugh.  I really was a naïve, stupid, know it all.

As I grew up I had to learn the difference between bullying and constructive criticism.  Bullying is when someone decides to judge you in an aggressive way.  They do it to make themselves feel better and most of the time they are jealous of your life.  It does nothing but make you feel like you’re worthless.

Constructive criticism is when someone tells you both good and bad qualities about yourself that you can improve. It’s done in a friendly and helpful manner and it’s purpose is to help you grow into the best human being possible.

When I first started working in the corporate world I had a hard time not taking constructive criticism personally.  I was very defensive and felt that people were judging me which wasn’t the case.  I would have quarterly reviews at work where my manager would go over my good qualities and the ones I needed to work on.  Since back then I was a miss know it all, I would get upset with my managers comments and wouldn’t change anything about myself which was so stupid.

As I got used to the reviews I started to really listen to what she was saying and she was right about a lot of things. I took her advice and worked on becoming better and I noticed that my overall work performance improved.

Making small changes to better yourself is something I wish I would have done earlier on in life. I wish I could have listened to the people who were just trying to help me improve instead of just shutting down.

I’m at the point in my life now where I need constructive cristism. If I’m at a new job and the manager doesn’t have monthly meetings with me about my work, I send them an email and request the meeting. I need to know what I’m doing right and wrong so I can fix the things I’m doing wrong. It helps my confidence when I’m able to fix a mistake.

Are you someone that can take constructive cristism?

Leave a Reply

