I talk myself out of things and don’t even realize it 

Do you ever pump yourself up to do something and you get really excited about it but then start to talk yourself out of it?

I didn’t realize I did this to myself until a couple of months ago when I had this really great opportunity and completely blew it because I got in my own head.  Then I started thinking back to all the times I have done this to myself and it really is unhealthy.

I don’t regret any decision I’ve made because that’s a waste of time.  Over thinking about the past does nothing, it already happened so keep it moving.  But I do want to make sure I don’t continue to do this to myself because I know one day it’s going to come back and bite me in the ass.

I don’t know if I do this because I’m not confident enough in myself to think I’m capable of succeeding in life, if I’m afraid to fail or if it’s because I let other people convince me that it’s not a good idea. Whatever the reason I need to change my mindset and start believing in myself enough to not fuck up these opportunities that come my way. Enough is enough with the negativity in my head.

The best way for me to overcome this obstacle is to do what Tina Fey says

“just say yes, and figure it out afterward.”

Tina is everything I love in a woman and so much more. Beyoncé is obviously my number 1 role model but Tina is up there on my list. Plus she’s 100% right.  If an opportunity comes along I need to say yes and just figure it out. Don’t overthink it and just do it.  It’s not everyday someone comes along and gives you an opportunity so I have to be grateful and try my best.  The worst that can happen is I fail and I’ll learn from my mistakes. I’m just happy that people believe in me enough to give me a chance to show what a badass I am.  Fucking up those chances is only going to hurt my future, no one else’s.

So from now on, I’m leaving the negative thoughts behind and just going for it.  I hope that if you’re like me you do the same.  We’re badass and we can do this.

Have you ever talked yourself out of a great opportunity?

Leave a Reply

