Does having a big ego hold me back?

I’ve come to the realization that I have a case of the entitlement disease where I feel that I am too good to do something and I’m not willing to do things I don’t want to do to get to where I want to be and that’s a problem that needs to be fixed ASAP. I wasn’t always this way so when did I become this person? Why am I like this?

While having a conversation with my better half I realized that he is willing to do anything to make some kind of money to pay bills and live a good life.  He will scrub toilets, clean floors, work at McDonalds, anything and that’s what makes him so successful.  It’s a quality I both admire and envy at the same time.

I haven’t had a consistent income for almost a year now and we are both getting fed up with not being able to do things we want to do like buy a house or pay for a wedding and I have to admit that all of these would be possible if I just woman up and got some kind of job while still pursuing my dreams. I hate the feeling of not being able to contribute 50/50 in our relationship and this last conversation was really a wake up call.

I guess what was holding me back from getting some kind of job was I thought I would be stuck at that job and never pursue my dreams. I can come home from working a day job and pursue my goals at night until I can work on my dream career full time.

2eb02ff801c03776b9fdc9f0b3892262

After to coming to this realization I started hearing the same kind of content online everywhere. I was listening to the podcast called Brilliant Idiots and Gary Vee was a guest on the show and what he was saying really hit home for me.  He said that what makes him different is that he’s willing to do what he has to do and that’s what makes him successful.  He’s willing to sit in the middle seat of a plane to get to a business meeting across country, he’s willing to stay up until 3 am learning the newest social media app instead of delectating that task to someone else.   He talked about Prince and how he found out that Prince used to scrub floors in exchange for studio time.

All of this really humbled me down realized if I need money to help pay bills or to save for a down payment on a house I have to put in work, even if it’s work I don’t want to do.  There is a difference in settling for a job and doing one because you need to.  I know that these day jobs will eventually help me to pay for a business of my own one day. I’m going to make sure I don’t get comfortable at these day jobs and wind up working there for 30 years and hating my life. If I go into these jobs with that mindset I can use it as motivation to make sure become my own boss.

Who the fuck am I to say I’m too good to do anything? Doing something is better than doing nothing and making no money.

I’m not settling I’m just doing what I have to do to get to where I want to be. Let the day job search begin.

Do you have a day job and come home to work on your dream career?

 

Leave a Reply

