It’s not about the money, it’s about the freedom 

When I first started this journey to becoming the boss of my life, I was very naïve.  I thought that I was going to come up with this amazing idea, get instant success and have money in the bank.  I learned quickly that was completely wrong. It takes time to build a brand and even more time to get people to not only like your brand but to buy what you’re selling.   I really thought that having a lot of money was going to solve all of my problems.  I thought that becoming an entrepreneur was going to give me fast cash and instant success. I was on this journey for all the wrong reasons which is why I am nowhere near where I want to take this brand.

Becoming the boss of my life isn’t about making a lot of money.  It’s about having the time and freedom to live my life to the fullest.  I don’t have to call into work or request vacation time to go on a trip, I don’t have to worry about working on holidays so I am able to spend time with my family.  If my best friend that lives in another state comes back home for a long weekend, I don’t have to worry about missing time with her because I am working overtime at a job I don’t even like.  The other day my cousin needed someone to watch her kids and get them off the school bus and I was able to go to her house with my laptop, work for a couple of hours before the kids came home and then babysit them overnight so she can go to a work party with her husband.  All of these things I wasn’t able to do when I worked in corporate America.  I was required to work at least 8 hours a day sometimes more without getting paid extra.  I had to request time off to go on vacations with my fiancé and I would only get 1-2 weeks a year off.

I would be stuck in an office where I wasn’t able to work from home if the weather was bad or I was feeling under the weather.  Now when the weather starts getting warm in the spring and summer I make sure to get outside to get things done.  I’m writing this blog post from a local park and I’m sitting outside on a picnic table with my phone, laptop and a bottle of water.  It doesn’t get any better than that.

bloggg

 

The point is that if you get into entrepreneurship to make money and make it fast and easy then stay in your 9-5 job or whatever job is helping you pay the bills.  I’ve been out of the world for almost a year now and I don’t make a consistent income.  There are months where I have to rely on my fiancé to take care of the bills and I hate it.   I know that eventually all of my hard work will pay off and I’ll be able to be a consistent contributor while also being able to live a life of freedom which in the end is the most important key to success.  I still hope to one day be the woman I dreamed about as a little girl.  The one with the corner office and a brand where I can make some money and have an impact on the world and I know I’ll get there one day but until then I will enjoy the luxury of being able to work when I want, where I want without having to listen to a boss.  There is so much more to life than a paycheck and once you realize that you will have a much different view on what success really is.

Do you think money is important or freedom?

3 thoughts on “It’s not about the money, it’s about the freedom 

  1. Great article, you can do it, persistence is the key! Trust me. I had the same mindset about starting a business, and I did, but a year later it was over. Point being you have to do it to help people, the money will follow!

    Money is just to tool to get your freedom, money buys you time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

