Help is not a dirty word

Why is it so hard to ask for help when you need it?

I’ve become so accustomed to trying to do everything all at once that I don’t even ask for help with the simplest tasks these days.  I’ve trained my brain to try to figure everything out on my own instead of just admitting to myself that is impossible and asking someone else for there opinion.

My fiancé was unpacking from one of his many business trips and he had a ton of free stuff from vendors that he wanted me to put in the kitchen downstairs.  I piled everything so high on my two arms that when I got to the stairs half the stuff just flew right down the steps.  He came out of the room and said “if you needed help why didn’t you just ask I would’ve helped you?”  I couldn’t answer that question but it got me thinking why I have this problem.

You get in life what you have the courage to ask for.” -Oprah Winfrey

I’ve doubted myself so much in the past that I kept everything inside and now I’m just used to not letting anyone help me and that’s a problem that I need to fix.  This is what held me back in all of my 9-5 jobs in the past.  I didn’t want people to think I couldn’t handle the tasks and instead of asking for help I just tried to do it all myself.  When I couldn’t do it all, when I told my bosses I could handle it that’s when I would either quit or they would let me go.

This is a problem that is holding me back with starting my own business.  I doubt my ideas and I don’t think out loud to anyone about them so I just try to implement it all on my own when I should ask for help from a mentor or a family member.

I’m going to work on opening up more to people I trust and asking for there help with all things in my life. It’s not going to be easy and it won’t happen overnight but you have to start somewhere.

The journey to becoming the boss of my life continues….

Are you someone that has trouble asking for help?

 

Leave a Reply

