Sports Teams settle too


Baseball is a sport that I love to watch. The inner tom boy in me loves to watch football and baseball. It was a way for me to bond with my father growing up and since he didn’t have any sons he loved it.

We are New York Mets fans in my household and this year has been unexpected but a great year to be a mets fan. I had the chance to see them in the World Series in 2000 but I was younger and they broke my heart just like the continue to do every year. It’s an emotional roller coaster being a Mets fan but we are loyal to our team. After the Mets lost the 2nd game in the World Series to the Kansas City Royals, I said to my fiancé (who is also a die hard mets fan) the Mets are settling. They aren’t playing with that hunger that they did in the NLDS and the NLCS. They were playing like they want to just hand over the championship to the Royals. They settled for the National League Championship title and stopped playing which is something that drives me crazy.

I realized that settling doesn’t just effect individual people it effects teams also. When you settle in life whether your just one person, or you have a team of people that settle it doesn’t just effect you. It effects the people around you. I know when I settled for the corporate life, I was miserable and took my anger out on people around me.

I was lucky enough to go to Game 3 in New York and although they won the game, I didn’t feel like the team had the confidence or drive to win the World Series. The Royals played like they were already World Series champions. They were confident, made few mistakes and took advantage of the mistakes the Mets made.
They deserved to win that title because they didn’t want to just settle for the American League Champion title.  They knew what it was like to lose in the World Series and made it a mission to win the World Series this year and they did.

I don’t care if you are a sports team, group, or an individual you should never settle.  Make sure you are never satisfied with being 2nd best and always strive to be the best in your field.

Do you think sports teams settle? Let me know in the comments.

 

index

 

Leave a Reply

