Attention all teenage girls.

When you are a teenager, especially a teenage girl the need to look perfect becomes an obsession. You basically want to look like a Barbie doll.


During my teenage years I was never the size 2 cheerleader type. I was curvy and I hated it. This was before Jennifer Lopez and Kim Kardashian made it cool to have curves.

This put a lot of pressure on me to look like a Victoria secret model. I would eat very little and exercise a lot but I never lost enough weight or looked like a stick figure.

It didn’t help that a lot of guys did not like the curvy girls. All the popular guys went for the size 0 girls. Thank god they did because most of them grew up to be losers with beer bellies that have a mediocre lifestyle and 10 kids. I dodged a bullet on that one.

It’s important to remind young women, ‘Listen, even skinny girls have cellulite, even Halle Berry has cellulite, and what you see in photos isn’t totally real.’– Sophia Bush

Society puts so much pressure on young girls by defining beauty on their terms. Every time a celebrity loses weight they are praised for looking great even when they look like skin and bones.  Every time a celebrity gains weight they are bashed and made fun of by the media.  They even go as far as judging pregnant woman that gain weight. This drives young teenagers to become bulimic or anorexic and never satisfied with the way they look.

 

It took me years to accept my body for what it was and I still have my doubts at times. I workout 3 times a week and I eat as healthy a I can and I still have cellulite on my legs, I don’t have a six pack or a thigh gap. Guess what? I love my flaws and would rather be healthy and strong than skinny and unhealthy.

I just want every teenage girl to know that, no matter what your family, friends, enemies at school, frenemies, or society say you are perfect with flaws and all. Focus on being healthy and don’t compare your body to another persons body.  Love yourself, accept your flaws and it will make life a lot easier and more fun.

Do you have body image issues? Let me know in the comments.

 

ellenquote

Leave a Reply

