Who we are vs. what we do for a living 

Do we define our self worth by what we do for a living?

I was a victim of thinking this way. My whole life I defined the jobs I have to how valuable I am as a human being. I would have very low self esteem if I was in a job that I was not proud of. I also put a price tag on my self worth. If I was not making that much money I felt like I wasn’t  ever going to be successful and that I wasn’t good enough to get a better job.

Eventually I realized that not only is this not a healthy way of thinking, it’s not true. Just because I worked an entry level job and I didn’t make that much money doesn’t mean I am not a kind, smart, driven, and an ambitious person. If I worked a job that I was not necessarily proud of and just helped to pay my bills, which is what I have been doing most of my life, that doesn’t mean I am a failure.

Separating the two has made it easier for me to figure out who I am as a person and what kind of career I want to have. If you are unemployed right now it’s ok, it doesn’t mean you are a failure. Stop settling for jobs that aren’t the right fit for you and take time to figure out what kind of company you want to work for. Write down a list of things you want in a job and things you don’t want. For example I wrote down in my list that I wanted a job where I could help people, I can make my own decisions, and was flexible in hours and can work from anywhere. What I didn’t want was an office job where I was sitting at a desk all day, a job that had no flexibility, low pay, horrible health benefits. Making this list helped me realize I didn’t want to work for anyone else ever again.  It also helped me realized that I wanted to help people to stop living by societies standards and start living on their own terms.

If you are someone that is stuck and feel like you aren’t living life on your own terms, trust me I’ve been there and done that, I would love to help you find your purpose in life and to start living it. I know what it’s like to not have a great support system and can be that for anyone trying to find their purpose.  You can contact me in the comments section below or reach out to me on Instagram; @assistant2boss, Facebook; Always the Assistant, Never the Boss, or Twitter; @assistant2boss.

Leave a Reply

